Boards & Committees

Town Boards

Board of Selectmen

Brian Smith
, Chair; Jeffrey Davis, Jeffery Henderson

The Board of Selectmen consists of three members who serve staggered terms.

Board of Assessors

Appointed by the Board of Selectmen for a three year Term

Charles Ingalls, Chair; Jeffrey Davis, Brian Smith

The Machiasport Board of Selectmen serves as the Board of Assessors. The Board of Assessors works with the Assessors Agent and reviews and approves the Tax Commitment and any Abatement Applications submitted by a property owner.

Planning Board

Appointed by the Board of Selectmen
Michael Hinerman, Chair
Jeff Huntley, Vice Chair
Jim Clark

Rick Jordan

Cathy Bunker, Secretary


The Planning Board consists of five (5) members. Some of these individuals have served in this capacity for many years. Monthly meetings are held to review Building Permits, Subdivision and site plans for any development proposals. The Planning Board meets the 2nd Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the Municipal Complex

CITIZEN NOTE: James Bradley, CEO/Plumbing Inspector attends the Planning Board Meetings and serves as a resource to the Board. He is appointed by the Board of Selectmen, and answers to the Board of Selectmen.

Board of Appeals

Appointed by Board of Selectmen
Betsy Fitzgerald, Chair
Susan West
Michael Murphy II
Hugh Taylor
The Board of Appeals hears grievances, variance requests, and administrative appeals.

Town Committees

Ordinance Committee

Appointed by the Board of Selectmen

Charles Ingalls
Robert Mercer
Jeffrey Davis
The Ordinance Committee consists of 3 members. Monthly meetings are held to review and revise as necessary the Town Ordinances. The Ordinance Committee meets the 3rd Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the Municipal Complex.

Shellfish Conservation Committee

Appointed by Board of Selectmen

Michael Murphy II, Whitney Stevens, Robert Boynton, Jared Gray, Derek Jordan

Maritime Committee

Appointed by Board of Selectmen
John Polk

Robert Ingalls (Vice Chair)
Mark Sprague
Jim Sherman
Wade Day, Harbor Master- Appointed by Board of Selectmen

Machiasport School Committee

Elected, staggered Terms
Rose Williams, Chair
Jeff Chick
Dawn Link

AOS Board

Appointed by School Board
Rose Williams

Superintendent of Schools

Appointed by School Board
Scott Porter – Telephone: 255-6585